Skip navigation

I hope you never think of me.
Suck the sound of my song
from your ears with an extra small straw.
I forbid you to reminisce
the taste of any pore on my body.
Sneeze the scent of me
out of your system and sweat
whatever you absorbed from my chest.
If your dreams trace contorted images of me smiling,
wake up and look around the empty room
-you call your heart-
to realize I was never there.
Scratch my compliments off your ego,
wipe away the residue of my lips from
the surface of your soul.
Measure the leap of faith I took for you in jump shots;
you will be gone with the wind on the first attempt.

I hope that the memory of me
cremates in the back your mind and the remnants
escape with each exhale you make.

I am no burden to you anymore..

Britta B.

One Comment

  1. YO!! “If your dreams trace contorted images of me smiling,
    wake up and look around the crowded room
    -you call your heart-
    to realize I was never there.” WHAT!!!?

    This joint was blazin!!


Leave a Reply

