Skip navigation

You are not only flesh but fervent.
You touch me without a trace of contact
just how details of the wind are not detected by eyes
but as its motion passes by;
transfusing movement into inanimate objects,
proof of existence rests assured.

At times, you reach parts of me untouched by feelings
where proper reactions cannot be resolved
so I shake.
I shake undone by fear and hope
like a branch on a tree reaching to be free.
At intermittent variables of time, I am frozen.
Stuck on a memory or moment
like a picture-frame hanging crooked on a wall.

Thumbtacks pierce crimes of sorrow to my mind.
Rumination feeds fear,
fear pinches clout from fervour.

The potential of this harm leaves me as paltry as empty pockets
with enough hurt no time in a hospital could heal.
My feathers crumble without you
tears fall as incessantly as candle grease
burns destroy galleries of memories.
If I can’t trace myself back to you
who am I?

Britta B.

10 Comments

  1. Very thoughtful and poignant. Thank you for birthing this piece.

  2. Thank you kindly, for your kind words of appreciation. It encourages me to write when people say that can feel my words as they read or even listen to them 🙂

  3. Britta this is amazing. The part about the crooked picture on the wall is so visual.It really touches me. thank you.

  4. There are no types

    Because this is a “multi=purpose” stereo.

    thank you for being part of my inspiration BB!

  5. A great write! I love the imagery that it evokes

  6. that’s awesome love..
    well said.

    love the richness in your words.

  7. Thanks for linking.
    Happy Tuesday!

  8. This is a wonderful thought-provoking poem.

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/10/24/missouri-1907/

    • Scent of my heart
    • Posted October 26, 2010 at 11:25 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I like it! You have very talented say! Thank you for visiting my blog!

  9. Beautiful Conflict!


Leave a Reply

