Skip navigation

My heart, scratching like a cat’s paw
from the interior of my rib cage, begs to be reminded.
I can’t help but miss all of those delicate details that
once defined our relationship…
The way your scrawny, long legs
would intercept mine as I fell
asleep beside you with ease
The bulletproof bond exposed
whenever we folded our hands together
How unafraid I was to let you
watch me get dressed in the morning
And the remarkable kiss you’d
plant on my face, the moment you awoke,
accompanied with a soft, “Good Morning” or
“How’d you sleep?”

I miss you most at night:
A story that could be left to six words
but too maudlin to be left alone.

Britta B.

18 Comments

  1. Glad to see you in my place.

    welcome join poets rally week 43,

    find poets rally on header, click on agreement with linkz to join, missed you.
    bless you.

    • It’s always such a task for me to keep up with these things.. but I’ll start to try harder 🙂

  2. love the first line,
    wow.

    smart write.
    keep it up.

  3. love the first line,
    wow.

    smart write.
    keep it up.
    😉

    • aww thanks so much.. I appreciate it!

  4. Hey. I got scrawny, long legs. You talking to me? 😀

  5. Thanks for sharing your feelings. Just a question though – what’s the inspiration for the title – Wide asleep to go with the content?

    • Because I can’t sleep at night but I still have dreams…
      I could probably use another title, do you have any in mind? It was hard to name this one.
      Your help is appreciated!

      • I cracked my brain for something suitable and this popped into my head – A Sleep in the Dream?
        How did you feel when you had those dreams?

        • missbrittab
        • Posted May 13, 2011 at 6:14 pm
        • Permalink

        hmmm.. I think you’re on to something. When I wrote it, I was struggling to fall asleep, does that make more sense?

      • Willing to Sleep?
        Does the double connontation ring with you?

        • missbrittab
        • Posted May 13, 2011 at 6:37 pm
        • Permalink

        or.. what about “Restless”? Something along those lines… (ps thanks for your help!)

      • Restless does resonate with the contents too! 🙂
        You are welcome, I think it’s a good exchange of ideas we have here. Keep up your literary efforts!

        • missbrittab
        • Posted May 13, 2011 at 6:43 pm
        • Permalink

        sweet! It makes a lot more sense. Thank for calling me out on it, that’s what bloggin the truth is all about 🙂

      • Coincidentally, I felt the same way just a couple of days ago. And being able to connect with it plays a strong role in me trying to brainstorm for a more apt title with you 🙂

  6. Thank you for a great post.

  7. Thank you for a great post.

  8. Right on!


Leave a Reply

