Skip navigation

I feel dangerously gentle and usually,
my heart’s hard to soften
I don’t feel like being on my best behaviour tonight
So, let me get right to it:

I want to wrap my tongue around your head like a scarf…

It ain’t a bad thing baby, if it makes you feel good

C’mere and listen to what I say
when I stop talking
to you

Look at where I run off to the moment it gets quiet
and let me take my time coming back
to you

Rub your temperature all over me
C’mon baby, light my fire

Coil
your cries into the backside
of my temples,
and be as sentimental as you like
Just don’t –
don’t tell me your name

It’ll fuck up my hindsight

It’ll let me get too use to getting to where I am
just to look back –some things don’t know how to heal

I’d rather be
hurt physically than mentally because
you can’t put band-aids on memories.
You can’t just get stitches
every time somebody wants to leave you.

These things don’t know how to heal

But now that we’re here, it’d be a real shame
not to –
to not touch you
It’d be a shame to not amaze you

Everybody’s got some hidden need for approval
You want me to want you, don’t you?

Come here,
I got something for you

All you have to do is survive our first kiss.

*This is just a story
about a little black spider I noticed clinging to the corner of my bedroom wall
the moment I thought I was all alone
I imagined what the little black spider would have to say
if she could say anything at all
(I imagined we’d have a lot in common)

Britta B.

2 Comments

  1. ahhhhhhhhh i love it! alll of it! but my favorite section….

    ‘I’d rather be
    hurt physically than mentally because
    you can’t put band-aids on memories.
    You can’t just get stitches
    every time somebody wants to leave you.’

    yes!!!!

    • One of my favourite parts too. Thank you for commenting!!


Leave a Reply

